Where my longing for the city began…

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 10.16.59 PM

When I was young my parents divorced and my father moved to Chicago. Every other weekend I would visit him in his downtown apartment.  At the time, I detested Chicago.  I found it to be overwhelmingly loud and I hated having to walk everywhere I went.  Looking back, I realize that my dislike for Chicago stemmed from my fear of the unknown. Life in Chicago is much different than life in a small town.  It’s faster paced, the streets are louder and there are so many people going so many places. All of these characteristics I had never experienced all at once before.  It wasn’t Chicago that I didn’t like, but having to step out of the box that I had lived in, and become accustomed to for eleven years that unsettled me.  Eventually, my Dad moved from the heart of Chicago to a suburb forty miles north.  Somewhere between then and now, I began to long for the city.  I stopped seeing it as a scary unknown and began seeing it as a place filled with endless opportunities. Now, as a recent high school graduate, I am finally able to grab hold of my life and I see my future going nowhere other than the windy city itself.

Leave a Reply

