Lessons Learned {In High School}

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 10.29.08 PM

Though I still have not truly come to the realization that my high school career is over, I have had a little time for introspection– and by a little time I mean my 15 minute breaks at work and car rides between cities (you think senior year is crazy? Just wait for the summer after!!) Nonetheless, I have (hopefully) accumulated some knowledge over the past four years, other than capital cities and french verb conjugations. So underclassmen take what will and learn from me, your elder & recent high school graduate.

Step outside of your comfort zone, try new things.

This sounds incredibly cliché and in part, it is. However, looking back on my high school career, much of the good things that have come my way are from decisions I made my freshman or sophomore year. Decisions that at the time I was hesitant to make because it meant stepping outside of my social group, outside of my comfort zone. Now, I could not be more thankful for those decisions because they created the opportunities that I have today.

Get involved.

I can’t stress this enough. As a freshman I heard this a lot, and it went in one ear and out the other. I was only concerned with finishing my math homework and surviving my french presentation. I felt that I didn’t have time to do much else. Not until now have I realized that all of the organizations, clubs and sports I joined are what make up my high school career. They are the memories that I will remember forever.

Attitude is everything.

Your attitude defines, more than anything, how happy you will be. If you stick up your nose and cross your arms, you’re not going to have any fun. However if you go into any situation with the benefit of the doubt, you might just enjoy yourself and meet some pretty cool people. (**cough **cough my senior year cheer team)

People can change, they change everyday.

“People do change, every day actually. Every day that you wake up you are a brand new person, a little different than the day before because every day we experience new things that change our point of view” –Taylor Swift

(more on this subject in a later post)

People make time for what is important to them.

As much as we hate to admit it. Most of us could have studied more for an exam, worked harder on a project, or made time for a club. We are all given the same 24 hours in a day and 365 days in a year. What you make of that time, is up to you.

You can do anything you put your mind to. Push yourself.

Through out high school, I never took advanced english classes. I was under the impression that I wouldn’t do well… that it would be too hard for me. Now, I actually regret this decision. Sure, it wouldn’t have been easy. But you know what, life isn’t easy and I would have learned a lot and progressed as a writer. I also regret that I believed I was not smart enough to take these classes. I regret that I doubted myself, when what I really needed to do, was to push myself.

Alway try your hardest. Always.

“We are what we repeatedly do; Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit” — Aristotle

I have found, throughout my schooling that this couldn’t be more true. Ever since middle school (yes, I did just say middle school) I have always tried my hardest on assignments and projects. At first it took a lot of effort, but now it is habitual. Each time I do my best, my best becomes a little better.

When you give someone a piece of gum, expect to be asked for a piece of gum by 5 more people. It’s inevitable.

We may be able to speak another language and calculate the impact velocity of two football players but we can not, no matter how hard we try, remember to bring gum to class.

There is life after high school.

Falling on you face while walking down the varsity hallway, spilling Diet Cherry Coke all over yourself at lunch, and tripping down the third floor staircase will eventually fade into vague memories. Don’t take everything so seriously. (Also… your popularity in high school has literally no impact on your success in the future so don’t get caught up in the drama of it all. Just find a group of people that get you and make some awesome memories.)

Laugh. Laugh. Laugh. & Laugh some more.

In other words, enjoy your time and make the most out of everyday. High school goes by faster than you think. (cliché but true).

Leave a Reply

